Socially savvy, humanly awkward (Going off twitter)

Lately my biggest crime can be summarized in a sentence: I don’t pick calls, return them, or pay visits to friends and family. If you are one of those people whom I owe a call to, please accept my apology. I promise I will return it (and visit) very soon. Like most young people around the world, I have been taken over by social media that I started forgetting to take out time to connect with people, do the things I always wanted to do, and actually enjoy life. I started falling into the group of people who watch a movie just to review it in 140 characters, take pictures of all any fun or random activities and post it on various networking sites for thousands of people to access, post my random or deepest thoughts…yes, the whole sad nine yards!

Not surprisingly, most of my friends and family don’t get as much of me anymore since I was sharing so much with others. I hadn’t even noticed that I had lost touch with people who matter until I read Elnathan’s article City Blues…Ill mannered people in a cold lifeless city and it hit too close to home. I realized that although I am guilty of so many of these ills, its not too late for me (or you either!). So for the first time in too long (years!) I logged out of twitter, facebook, and instagram. I am going to start returning calls from 6 months back (this is not even a joke) and reconnecting with the people I had replaced with strangers and maybe, just maybe I might begin to achieve what I set out to do in the first place: change the world!

I am not saying this is the answer to everyone’s problems…it just seems like the solution to my biggest present flaw. I don’t know when I will be back (if ever) but I do know I will be working on myself with this new freedom I have found. And if you see Elnathan John, tell him I said thank you!

 

P.S

I went to Kado village for lunch yesterday. Not the one before/beside gwarimpa, but the one oposite it. Yes the one behind Jabi. Our lunch (fufu, oha soup and meat) cost N200 per plate. I was humbled beyond belief by the struggle I saw there. I have been so far up in my world that I had actually lost touch with majority of Nigerians whom I wish to fight and speak for. They barely had streets (we passed through one man’s compound to the next) , the water from people’s makeshift bathroom flowed on the small pathways, everywhere was a little business and their concern could be summed into ‘just let me make it to tomorrow’. It reminded me of Mario Cuomo’s a tale of two cities. These people don’t know or care about what we say on twitter if it doesn’t translate into action and the reality of it is that they probably make 60% of registered voters. If we don’t get to know them, befriend them, understand them and begin to teach them their rights, N100 will continue to buy their votes and all our noise will be ineffective.

P.P.S

I am tired of speaking to the converted…I want to connect and make new friend beyond 140 characters. I hope this becomes your Aha! article too. Oh, don’t forget to read the Mario Cuomo article. It will change your life

3 comments

  1. Salisu S · · Reply

    The title is most apt!. socially savvy and humanly awkward explains the reality of most concious, educated and patriotic young Nigerian. I must confess I’ve not really being brave enough to talk much about my experiences with the forgotten class of people in Abuja but I think hanging around them, eating with them and listening to their frustration (something I do a lot) is quiet a consolation. Similerly, I want to agree dat d social media has the ability to alienate us frm real people but still it is very possible to strike a balance between the two extremes, not necessarily by quiting Twitter! Furthermore, I want to thank Azeenerh for taking time out of her very busy schedule to visit Kado. I just wish it was d other Kado village, the one behind the Fish Market she visited. She would have seen a sight that will definately hastened her reconnection with the people she dearly wants to talk about and belive me, they really do need all d voices!

    1. But Salisu it was the one behind the fish market I visited!

  2. This struck a chord with me. It almost seems as if there are two nigerias. One in virtual reality “in the clouds and air”, and the other in real time “on the ground”. Which one has the largest population? Yet all the meaningful debate and policy making takes place in the air, while those on the ground go about their business

Leave a Reply

